Prof. Dr. Daniel Graewe, LL.M.

Attorney-at-law

Prof. Dr. Daniel Graewe, LL.M. studied law and political science at the University of Freiburg. This was followed by a semester abroad in Lausanne/Switzerland and a move to the University of Frankfurt a.M.. In Hesse, he passed the first state law examination. He then began his legal clerkship in Hamburg, where he also completed his political studies with a degree in political science.

During his legal clerkship, Daniel Graewe worked at the Hamburg Regional Court, the Federal Maritime and Hydrographic Agency and Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer, among others. Further stations led him to the Federation of German Industries (RGIT) in Washington D.C./USA and to the German University of Administrative Sciences in Speyer. In the year 2009, he passed the second state law examination in Hamburg. In the same year, he was also admitted to the bar.

Subsequently, Professor Graewe completed his doctorate on a corporate law topic in the field of corporate governance under Professor Dr. Barbara Dauner-Lieb at the University of Cologne. Already during his doctoral studies, he worked for an established German law firm and represented numerous companies throughout Germany in labor court proceedings and in the field of international commercial law. Subsequently, he completed an LL.M. program with a focus on Japanese law as a scholarship holder of the Robert Bosch Foundation with a research stay in Kyôto/Japan.

After completing his doctoral thesis, Daniel Graewe joined White & Case, a leading American law firm, where he worked for several years in the areas of corporate and capital markets law in Hamburg, London and Munich. At the same time, he successfully completed a specialist attorney course in tax law. He then worked for several years in the Hamburg office of CMS Hasche Sigle, an equally renowned international law firm, in the area of corporate law and private clients.

After many years of teaching assignments in German and English in the areas of commercial and corporate law, venture capital and business law, he accepted a full professorship in business law at the employer-oriented Nordakademie University of Applied Sciences in the year 2016. There he is also director of the Institute for Applied Business Law. From 2017 to 2021, he held a parallel position as Of Counsel at Eversheds Sutherland. He was also appointed Faculty Member of the Institute of Mergers, Acquisitions and Alliances in Vienna in 2018 and Senior Visiting Scholar at the University of California, Berkeley (Fulbright Commission Scholarship) in 2019. In 2021, Daniel Graewe founded the firm and is also active as a member of the Supervisory Board.

In his free time, he is involved in church and social institutions. He is a mentor of the Deutschlandstiftung Integration, an honorary knight of the Order of St. John, a member of the board of trustees of the Ernst Ludwig Kirchner Society and an honorary board member of the Nordakademie Foundation. He is also a reserve officer in the German Armed Forces (Lieutenant Colonel). In 2012 he was awarded the White & Case Pro Bono Award and in 2019 the Fulbright Certificate of Excellence.

He lives in Hamburg with his wife and their daughters.

Prof. Dr. Daniel Graewe, LL.M.

Rechtsanwalt

Prof. Dr. Daniel Graewe, LL.M. studierte Rechts- und Politikwissenschaft an der Universität Freiburg. Es folgten ein Auslandssemester in Lausanne/Schweiz und der Wechsel an die Universität Frankfurt a.M. In Hessen legte er das erste juristische Staatsexamen ab. Anschließend begann er mit dem Rechtsreferendariat in Hamburg, wo er auch das Politikstudium mit dem Abschluss als Diplom-Politologe beendete.

Während des Referendariats war Daniel Graewe u.a. am Landgericht Hamburg, dem Bundesamt für Seeschifffahrt und Hydrographie sowie Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer tätig. Weitere Stationen führten ihn zum Bundesverband der deutschen Industrie (BDI) nach Washington D.C./USA und an die Deutsche Universität für Verwaltungswissenschaften in Speyer. Im Jahr 2009 absolvierte er das zweite juristische Staatsexamen in Hamburg. Im gleichen Jahr erfolgte auch die Zulassung als Rechtsanwalt.

Anschließend promovierte Professor Graewe über ein gesellschaftsrechtliches Thema aus dem Bereich Corporate Governance bei Professor Dr. Barbara Dauner-Lieb an der Universität Köln. Bereits während der Promotionszeit arbeitete er für eine arrivierte überörtliche Sozietät und vertrat zahlreiche Unternehmen deutschlandweit in Arbeitsgerichtsprozessen und auf dem Gebiet des internationalen Handelsrechts. Anschließend absolvierte er einen LL.M.-Studiengang mit dem Schwerpunkt japanisches Recht als Stipendiat der Robert Bosch-Stiftung mit einem Forschungsaufenthalt in Kyôto/Japan.

Nach dem Abschluss der Dissertation startete Daniel Graewe als Rechtsanwalt bei White & Case, einer führenden amerikanischen Großkanzlei, wo er mehrere Jahre im Bereich Gesellschafts- und Kapitalmarktrecht in Hamburg, London und München tätig war. Parallel absolvierte er erfolgreich den Fachanwaltslehrgang im Steuerrecht. Anschließend folgte eine mehrjährige Tätigkeit im Hamburger Büro von CMS Hasche Sigle, einer gleichermaßen renommierten internationalen Großkanzlei, im Bereich Gesellschaftsrecht und Private Clients.

Nachdem er viele Jahre deutsch- und englischsprachige Lehraufträge im Bereich Handels- und Gesellschaftsrecht, Venture Capital und Business Law innehatte, nahm er im Jahr 2016 den Ruf auf eine Professur für Wirtschaftsrecht an die arbeitgebernahe Nordakademie Hochschule der Wirtschaft an. Dort ist er auch Direktor des Instituts für angewandtes Wirtschaftsrecht. Von 2017 bis 2021 war er parallel als Of Counsel bei Eversheds Sutherland tätig. Er wurde zudem im Jahr 2018 zum Faculty Member des Institute of Mergers, Acquisitions and Alliances in Wien ernannt und im Jahr 2019 zum Senior Visiting Scholar an der University of California, Berkeley (Scholarship der Fulbright Commission). Im Jahr 2021 gründete Daniel Graewe die Kanzlei und ist daneben als Aufsichtsrat aktiv.

In seiner Freizeit engagiert er sich für kirchliche und soziale Einrichtungen. Er ist Mentor der Deutschlandstiftung Integration, Ehrenritter des Johanniterordens, Kuratoriumsmitglied der Ernst Ludwig Kirchner Gesellschaft und ehrenamtlicher Vorstand der Nordakademie Stiftung. Er ist zudem Reserveoffizier (Oberstleutnant) bei der Bundeswehr. Im Jahr 2012 wurden ihm der White & Case Pro Bono Award und im Jahr 2019 das Fulbright Certificate of Excellence verliehen.

Er lebt mit seiner Frau und den gemeinsamen Töchtern in Hamburg.